Collaborating.

Respectfully.

" Foliumize was born when we initially committed for a 3-week volunteering program, but COVID-19 stranded us for 7 months in the Knysna forest in South Africa. That's where we actively helped to plant more than 2,000 native trees.  "  

The Foliumize adventure matured since March 2020, when we joined as volunteers the non-profit Pachamama Forest Restoration project in South Africa. 

 

Foliumize germinated thanks to the active participation, amongst others, in : the fight against invasive plant species, the rehabilitation by hand of the land intended to receive future plants, the planting of the seedlings and the automation of a financial and accounting system.

“At the end of 2018, we were quitting our jobs

with the desire to take a step back. this long journey allowed us to change ”

Foliumize was also nourished by our two years of travel, reflection and experimentation. Indeed, at the end of 2018, we left our finance jobs in Luxembourg. Since then, we had the chance to appreciate the richness of the cultural, geographical and culinary diversity of our planet. Unfortunately, we could also witness the alarming state of our planet.

While travelling, we received testimonies from locals about the degradation of ecosystems and saw many threatened landscapes. From these moments, we became aware of the need to act. "  

DSC06705_edited.jpg

Chile and Bolivia

Stories from the inhabitants of the Atacama Desert in Chile or the Salar d'Uyuni in Bolivia, warning about the mining industries using the millennial groundwater to clean the extracted lithium.

We could not remain indifferent.

These various examples and testimonies have a common denominator: this feeling of degradation and irreversible loss. From now on, we want to act, raise awareness and unite as many people as possible around conservation projects.

Let's act

together!

Katharina Romain Foliumize holding trees arbres couple

Collaborer.
Respectueusement.

« Foliumize est née lors lorsque partis pour un volontariat de 3 semaines, la COVID-19 nous a bloqués 7 mois dans la forêt de Knysna en Afrique du Sud où nous avons activement contribué à planter plus de 2.000 arbres indigènes. » 

L’aventure Foliumize s’est dessinée depuis mars 2020, lorsque nous avons rejoint en tant que volontaires le projet à but non lucratif de reforestation Pachamama Forest Restoration en Afrique du Sud.

Foliumize a germé grâce à la participation, entre autres, aux activités suivantes : la lutte contre les espèces végétales invasives, la réhabilitation à la main du terrain destiné à recevoir les futurs plants, la plantation de ces derniers ou encore d’automatisation d’un système financier et comptable.

« Fin 2018 nous quittions nos emplois
avec l'envie de prendre du recul et
ce long voyage allait nous permettre de changer »

Foliumize s’est également nourri de nos deux années de voyage, de réflexion et d'expérimentation. En effet, fin 2018, nous quittions nos emplois dans la finance à Luxembourg. Depuis, nous avons pu apprécier la richesse et la diversité culturelle, géographique et culinaire de notre Planète. En revanche, ce que nous suspections quant à l'état de notre planète, nous avons pu le ressentir. 

« Au cours de notre voyage, nous avons été reçus des témoignages de locaux sur la dégradation des écosystèmes et avons vu de nombreux paysages menacés. Dès lors, nous avons pris conscience de
la nécessité d'agir. 
» 

DSC06705_edited.jpg

Chili et Bolivie

Des habitants du désert d’Atacama au Chili ou du Salar d'Uyuni en Bolivie nous parlant des industries minières qui utilisent les nappes phréatiques millénaires pour nettoyer le lithium extrait.

Nous ne pouvions pas rester indifférents. 

Ces divers exemples et témoignages ont pour dénominateur commun ce sentiment de dégradation et de perte irréversible. Désormais, nous voulons agir à notre échelle, prendre part à cette prise de conscience collective et fédérer le plus grand nombre autour des projets de conservation.

Agissons ensemble !

Katharina Romain Foliumize holding trees arbres couple